Month: April 2009

  • PaintingSmall-AliceAndChrisOnFenceAtHohRainForest4225

    Alice Painting - Under the Snoqualmie Falls SMALL  

    My sister Alice has now finished the website on our recent sister trip to Seattle, Washington. I must say she has done an absolutely fabulous job. I invite you to visit the web site and share our wonderful vacation. http://www.woodrome.com/WashingtonState/index.html 

     

  • “LIVING MULCH’

      RoseBushesWithLivingGreenMulch230

    I started an experiment early last year and it’s really paying off THIS year. I planted little sprigs of sedum all over the flower beds because I was hoping that it would become a “living green mulch”. You see, my yard is not flat. It slopes seriously, and I was getting really tired of picking up the mulch each time we had a heavy rain and redistributing it where it belonged. I figured a “living” mulch, complete with roots, would stand a much better chance of staying in place each time it rained. It kind of worked last year, but BOY, it’s really working well this year. All those little springs of sedum have taken off and spread nicely. So now I really do have living mulch that stays in place.

    I am really glad that spring has come . . . I was so tired of winter, and although the predominant color at this time in my yard is green, I DO have a few things blooming. Here’s a sampling.

    YellowRose222 WhiteColumbine224 Violet225 TinyRubiesDianthus217
    Miniture yellow rose, white columbine, violet and “Tiny Rubies” dianthis.

    Scabiosa210
    Roses211 Quince216 PurpleHomesteadVerbena244
    Scabiosis, red roses, quince and purple homestead verbena.

    PottedLilies247 PinkColumbine220 PeonyBud219 GreenLivingMulch237
    Another experiment . . lilies in pots, pink columbine, a peony bud (no bloom yet), red roses.

    GrapeHyacinth213 EasterLilies218 DianthusAndStringSedum221 Daisies212
    Grape hyacinth, Easter Lily (freshly planted after Easter services), dianthis and daisies.

    Daffodils234 CoralBells226 NandinaDomestica243
    Daffodils, coral bells and Nandina Domestica . . . well actually the berries are from last fall, not this spring. But it’s COLOR and after a long winter any show of color is welcome.

    Now, I can hardly wait until all the lilies start blooming.