Month: May 2009

  • RIGHT IN MY OWN BACK YARD . . .

     

    I have a family of Robbins in the tree in my back yard. The tree is still fairly young and therefore small enough that I can walk right up to the first fork in the tree and there they are. Momma Robbin has been very indulgent of me checking in on her kids every once in a while. Tonight I decided to take a short movie and share it with you all.

    .

  •  SarahBernhartPeony

    FINALLY I have peonies blooming in my yard. I planted 6 different peony bushes two years ago when I was just starting this yard and finally this year I have peonies blooming that are like what I remember as a child. Last year I had one tiny peony bloom, but they are much larger this year. Now we'll patiently wait for the other 5 bushes to produce some blooms. I have been told that it sometimes takes peonies 3 years to produce blooms, hence the need for patience.

    WhiteLoveInTheMist RedPeony LittlePurpleFlowers Gaura
     And while I'm also waiting for the lilies to start blooming, I'm happy with the flowers that are blooming right now in my garden: Love in the mist, a small red peony, little purple flowers that I don't know the name of and gaura.

    Gaillardia
    HomeRunRose Daisies Columbine
     I also have a few gaillardia this year, and home run roses, daisies and pink and white columbine.