Month: February 2010

  • Picture me shaking my head in disbelief . . .

    Alice and I frequently go out to lunch on Wednesdays and today we went to Chili's because they have a relatively new soup on their menu and I wanted to try it out. It's Green Chili Chicken Soup with rice, cilantro and avocados and a touch of lime juice. It comes with a very nice salad and a bowl of chips and salsa. We sat down and placed the order for our drinks (water with lemon) and the Green Chili Chicken Bottomless Soup and Salad.  I think our waiter was fairly new on the job, because we had to ask a second time for our lemons.  The good news is that the soup was delicious, so much so that we both requested a second bowl. It took a while to get it, and when it came . . . it had no cilantro AND it was luke warm.  He did bring us some cilantro, but eating luke warm soup just ruins the meal.  I know . . . we should have sent the soup back to be heated up, but we didn't.  We DID however decide that we would NEVER accept another bowl of luke warm soup from a restaurant.  There's just no excuse for serving tepid soup.  I'd wager that by this time our waiter was thinking his tip was shrinking drastically. 

    We finished our meal and each paid our tickets with twenty dollar bills.  When our change came back he gave me two $5 bills and a bunch of ones . . . I say "bunch" because it looked like more than the three ones I was expecting, so I counted my change . . . $20.72.  That's right! I could have left with 72 more cents than I had when I entered the restaurant.   I called the young man over to our table and explained that I had paid with a twenty and had received $20.72 back in change.   He said, "Oh, I'm sorry."  And then incredulously he added, "Would you like some chips to go?"   He's going to have to sharpen his skills or look for another line of work.