Month: September 2012

  • The summers in Oklahoma can be quite brutal, and spending 4 or 5 hours a day tending to the flowers is just not sustainable. Because of that I decided about a month and a half ago to downsize my gardens. I'm happy to report that I can see the light at the end of the tunnel. I've given away about 30% of my day lilies and have closed down several beds. One is now a sidewalk, one huge one is now a river rock bed, one is half the size it used to be and another now has only ONE row of day lilies where it used to have three rows. The plan is that next year I will be able to tend all my day lilies from my little gardening stool by simply moving it around the border of the beds. No more standing on my head to tend to the day lilies in the back rows. Every one will be in a front row or at least very accessible. I just have to plant 9 more shrubs, eight of which are on back order and should be in next week.