September 21, 2009

  • X-0542-Grand Canyon So Rim

    This shot is taken from the South Rim of the Grand Canyon.  I called my son from the rim to tell him how very awesome the Grand Canyon was.  I also told him I thought it was about 2 miles from the north rim to the south rim and he added that he thought the canyon was at least 1000 feet deep.  Later that day I found out the truth; it's 12 miles from the north to the south rim and the canyon is 1 mile deep . . not 1000 feet.  Big difference. BIG CANYON.  It actually takes a few minutes for your mind to grasp the immensity of the canyon when you first see it.

Comments (2)

  • Great shot, Chris.

  • Aren't the color variations wonderful....from white to red, brown, even black and what seems to be purple in some places.  We want to go back again sometime soon...but your previous shot has been wanting to see Utah as well.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment